Wait for the Morning

by Sound the Ocean

supported by
Eclectic thumbnail
Eclectic I love singing along to this album. It's got everything a great pop album needs - catchy song lyrics, hooks and choruses, bouncy tunes and a happy, uplifting feeling. Favorite track: Hold On.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




What good is hope without an anthem?

When Nick Kraenzlin penned a group of songs for his Master of Arts degree, he found himself followed by a persistent theme. It’s almost as if the thread of hope that permeates Sound the Ocean’s debut album Wait for the Morning was just waiting for the right notes.

Brought alive by the a seven-piece band, including Kraenzlin’s wife and frontwoman Amanda, Wait for the Morning is the sound of hope amplified through stadium-ready refrains. Recorded at Neil Finn’s iconic Roundhead studios, the album soars with sentiments as bright as the light at the end of the tunnel.

“Courage brought you all this way, hope will do the rest…Don’t give up now, you’re gonna make it through”, Nick urges in the crescendo of the title track, a slow-burning chorale backed by members Brendon Rickard (drums, vocals), Jason Henderson (electric guitar), Jon Clarke (bass guitar/vocals), Brett Wilson (electric guitar, vocals) and Jesse Te Weehi (keyboards). From the infectious chorus of ‘Ghost Town’ to the intimate opening strains of ‘Until You Find Your Feet’, Sound the Ocean delivers a collection of expansive anthems that offer more depth than your average disposable pop.

The seven-strong outfit isn’t afraid to think big. After all, when it comes to a theme as all encompassing and redemptive as hope, you can never sing loud enough.

-Luke Oram


released September 25, 2015

Recorded at Roundhead Studios and Edge Kingsland
Mixed at Wairiki Road
Produced, Recorded, and Mixed by Nic Manders except for "Ghost Town" (OneFatMan Remix) and "Ghost Town" (OneFatMan Radio Edit), both produced by Remy for OneFatMan
Assistant and Additional Engineering by Nathan Tiddy
Mastered by Andy Vandette at Masterdisk, New York

Nick Kraenzlin: Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitars, Handclaps
Amanda Kraenzlin: Lead Vocals, Handclaps
Jon Clarke: Bass, Backing Vocals
Jason Henderson: Electric Guitars
Brett Wilson: Electric Guitars, Backing Vocals
Jesse Te Weehi: Keyboards
Brendon Rickard: Drums, Backing Vocals
Joe McNamara: Electric and Acoustic Guitars
Josh Klinkenberg: Drums
Nic Manders: Piano, Keyboards, String Arrangements, Backing Vocals, Percussion, Handclaps, Acoustic and Electric Guitars
Jeremy Mayall: Programming, Editing, Mixing, and Additional Instruments on OneFatMan Remix and Radio Edit



all rights reserved


sound the ocean Hamilton, New Zealand

Sound the Ocean’s name was inspired by Shakespear’s Titus Andronicus, in which he adjures a group of gentlemen “go sound the ocean, and cast your nets”. From the despair depicted in the anthemic “Ghost Town” to the uplifting “Hold On” and explosive “Spring”, Sound the Ocean weave a refreshingly optimistic story of hope in the face of dark nights and the winter of the soul. ... more

contact / help

Contact sound the ocean

Streaming and
Download help